New to Public Health Residency Program

Welcome to the New to Public Health (N2PH) Residency Program!

Like Us on Facebook       Follow Us on LinkedIn

The New to Public Health Residency Program is a first of its kind program designed to support new public health professionals within their first year of governmental public health practice.

As a resident, you will learn about foundational areas and capabilities essential to public health practice as you complete a series of monthly learning activities to build competence and confidence as you transition to your exciting new professional role.

Information about Cohort 5 will be available on this website as details are finalized. Check back for details about applying for Cohort 5.

Join us for an informational webinar to learn more about the New to Public Health Residency Program, ask questions, and get to know program facilitators.

  • Wednesday, April 20, 2022 at 10AM PT/ 2PM CT/ 3PM ET   –  CANCELED
  • Monday, May 30, 2022 at 8AM PT/ 10AM CT/ 11AM ET

Register for a webinar

What is the N2PH Residency Program?

Testimonials

The following quotes are from the New to Public Health Residency Program beta testing participants’ comments and stakeholder interviews:

“Coming out of nursing school I needed more, especially during a pandemic. Residency programs are not common in public health professions like they are in the hospitals and they are very much needed for public health professionals to feel truly onboarded.”
N2PH circles from logo

“I enjoyed the use of different techniques and platforms that were used during the virtual session, which I thought adhered to many different learning styles/preferences. The [synchronous discussion] session felt like a safe environment to discuss any topic and a great way to connect [with others].”
N2PH circles from logo

“With a better understanding of the foundation of public health, I can apply this knowledge to my PNCC program and improve services.”
N2PH circles from logo

“It’s been a great reminder of why I decided to join public health!”
N2PH circles from logo

Interprofessional Continuing Education Partnership

In partnership with the UW-Madison Interprofessional continuing Education Program, contact hours/credits will be available for successful completion of this program.

In support of improving patient care, UW-Madison ICEP is jointly accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), and the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), to provide continuing education for the healthcare team.